Wednesday, July 23, 2014

Miami Dade County DMV Guide

You are Here: Florida DMV Home » Dade County DMV

Dade County is located in Southeast Florida along the Atlantic Ocean coast nestled next to Broward, Collier and Monroe counties. It has 1,946 square miles of land and a population of 2,300,000 plus.

Miami-Dade County bustles with nightlife, fine restaurants, tons of shopping, and has beautiful beaches. It is an international hub for tourists especially the Latin American countries because of its close proximity. South Beach is known for its art deco architecture, restaurants, shops, and ten miles of beach on a barrier island. Some of its 50 plus cities include Aventura, Coconut Grove, Coral Gables, Hialeah, Homestead, Key Biscayne, Miami Beach, Pinecrest, and South Beach

Shortcuts:

Miami Dade County Services

Shortcuts: DMV Offices   Dade County Clerk of Court

Many government services provided at the county level are available from either the DMV Office or the Clerk of Court - also known as the Clerk of the Ciruit Court. The DMV focuses on licenses and tags for anything that you drive including cars, boats, motorcycles, trucks, RVs and more.

The Miami Dade Clerk of Court delivers an enormous amount of services. Examples include your civil and criminal courts, bail bonds, boating and fishing citations, traffic citations, marriage licenses, adoptions, jury service, parking, passports, and many more.

Dade County DMV Offices & Services

Your Dade County DMV offices provide vehicle registration, drivers licenses, ID cards, tag and title services for cars, trucks, trailers, vessels and mobile homes.


Registration, Tag and Title Services

You can also contact the DMV office for specialty tags, disability parking permits, and transferring a motor vehicle or boat/vessel title. Many of Dade's Florida DMV services are available online or by phone to save you time.

Relocating to Florida

If you are a new Florida resident, you are required to register your vehicle within ten days and get a Florida drivers license within 30 days. If you have an out-of-state drivers license and it has not expired beyond 30 days you can convert your license without taking a written or road test. If you need a drivers license for the first time you must complete a Florida DMV approved four-hour Drug and Alcohol (DATA) course and DMV test on road signs and road rules.


Car Registration and Auto Insurance

Before registering your vehicle, you must obtain Florida Auto Insurance and have verification of the VIN number. The auto insurance must be purchased from an insurance company licensed by the Florida Office of Insurance Regulation. Florida's minimum coverage is $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 property damage liability (PDL). If you have been involved in a crash, or been convicted of certain offenses, you may be required to purchase bodily injury liability coverage (BIL).


More information on Dade County DMV

First Time Driver -New Drivers License Guide

Auto Insurance Requirements -Florida

Learners Permit Requirements

Traffic School Courses -Florida DMV Approved

Commercial Drivers License (CDL) and Vehicle Resources


Additional Miami Dade County Information

Florida Highway Patrol

Miami Dade Police Department