Drivers License for Non US Citizens
How to get your Florida Drivers License
The first step to getting a Florida drivers license if you are not a US Citizen is to provide the required identification.
You must show proof of birth date and social security number (if issued). Immigrants and non-immigrants have different identification requirements. Once the state of Florida verifies identity and legal status, a drivers license or identification card will be issued within 30 days from Tallahassee and mailed to the address on the driver record.
Completing the Required First Time Driver Course
Before going to the drivers license office, you must first complete the four-hour Drug and Alcohol Traffic Awareness (DATA) course and the written DMV test on road signs and road rules. Both the DATA course and the written DMV test are available online from DMV approved schools.
Once you receive your Certificate of Completion for the DATA course and DMV test you then make an appointment with your local drivers license office to take the behind-the-wheel driving test. The vehicle you bring for your driving test must have a valid tag, proof of insurance, and pass a vehicle inspection. During the driving test, the examiner will observe your ability to control the vehicle and how well you obey traffic laws. It is important to study the Florida Drivers Handbook in advance of taking the written DMV test and the behind-the-wheel driving test.
Going to the Drivers License Office (DMV)
Along with your Certificate of Completion you must bring the accepted forms of identification listed above. At the drivers license office you will also take a vision test, behind-the-wheel driving test, pay a driver license fee, and get your picture taken for an operator's license. Upon identity and legal status verification, a driver license will be issued within 30 days from Tallahassee and mailed to your address.
The DMV written test is also available at your local drivers license office but to save time you can take it online after completing the DATA course. Once you receive your Certificate of Completion for the DATA and DMV tests, then you make an appointment at the drivers license office to take the road test. You will need to bring your Certificate of Completion for the courses and two forms of identification to verify your birth date and social security number.
TLSAE / DATA Course - required for first time drivers