Drivers License for Out of State Drivers
Out of State Drivers
How to get your Florida Drivers License
By Florida law, If you have a drivers license from another state you need to obtain a Florida drivers license within 30 days of residency at a local DMV office.
ID Requirements for getting a Florida Drivers License are now much more strict - read the ID Requirements. An out of State Drivers License does not serve as a form of ID.
If you have a current out-of-state drivers license your driving record will be checked. If you have outstanding citations or anything on your driving record that calls into question your driving ability then you may be required to take the written Florida DMV test.
If your out of state driving record is clean then you will NOT BE Required to take any written test.
You will be required to take a vision test
If the examiner questions your ability to safely operate a vehicle you may be requested to take a written and/or driving test. It's best to call a local drivers license office and make an appointment.
If you have a vehicle, you will need to get Florida auto insurance and verify the VIN before registering the vehicle.
First Time Driver Requirements
If you have never had a drivers license the first requirement is to complete the four-hour Drug and Alcohol Traffic Awareness Course (DATA) which can be taken online. Second, you will need to take the DMV written test on road signs and road rules which can also be completed online - if you are under 18 years old - to save you time.
DMV Written Test
The DMV written test is also available at your local drivers license office but to save time you can take it online after completing the DATA course. Once you receive your Certificate of Completion for the DATA and DMV tests, then you make an appointment at the drivers license office to take the road test. Again, please review the ID requirements.
TLSAE / DATA Course - required for first time drivers