Friday, April 18, 2014

Fighting a Traffic Ticket in Court

You are Here: Florida DMV Home » Fighting a Ticket

If you've received a traffic ticket and want to fight it in court, make sure you can prove without a doubt that you are innocent. For instance, if you received a speeding ticket the judge may ask you when the last time you had your speedometer checked and ask for a copy of the documentation.

Then, the judge will turn to the police officer and ask him for his record of having the police car's speedometer checked. The police officers know the drill and will be prepared. If you aren't prepared, you'll lose your case!

What Happens When You are Found Guilty

Judges review thousands of cases involving traffic infractions and often times ask for details such as speedometer checks before not guilty pleas are issued. If you cannot prove without an unreasonable doubt at a court hearing your innocence you may end up paying more and being court ordered to attend a traffic school.


Miami-Dade County Clerk of Court Imposes Penalties

On the Miami-Dade County Clerk of Court website it states: At a court hearing, if it is determined that a violation has been committed, the court may impose a civil penalty not to exceed $500.00 or require attendance at a traffic school, or both. On violations involving death or speeding in a school/construction zone, the fine shall not exceed $1,000.00. Failure to appear, failure to complete court ordered traffic school or failure to pay court costs will result in your driver license being suspended until all requirements are met.


Orange County Clerk of Court Bond Charges

The Orange County Clerk of Court Plea of Not Guilty process allows those who received traffic tickets to fight them in court. If you are prepared and can prove your innocence, points will not be assessed on your driver's license. However, if are not able to prove your innocence without a doubt and the judge finds you guilty the Orange County Clerk of Court website states: 1) If you were charged with a moving violation, the civil bond would be $100.00. and, 2) If you received a non-moving violation, the civil bond would be $75.00. Remember, we must receive your request for a court date within 30 straight calendar days to avoid additional late fees and possible suspension of your driving privilege.


Collier County Clerk of Court Traffic Ticket Guilty Fines

Judges in the Collier County Clerk of Court can fine you up to $1,000 if found guilty for fighting a traffic ticket. On their website it states: You can enter a written plea of not guilty and request a court hearing. The Clerk's office must receive your Traffic Citation Option Form, requesting court, within 30 calendar days of the date the officer issued the citation. If you appear in court, you waive your right to pay the civil penalty amount. The Judge can fine you up to $1,000.00 in some cases. The Judge can also order you to attend driver improvement school and/or pay a penalty. If you fail to appear for your court hearing, the Judge can hear your case without you being present. The Clerk's office will notify you of the Judge's decision."


Be Prepared or Pay Big Penalties

In the state of Florida, if you plan to fight a traffic ticket you must be prepared. One of the most common tickets are speeding tickets and judges have been known to ask defenders for records of having their speedometer checked for accuracy. If the judge finds you guilty, you will most likely be charged additional penalties up to $1,000 in some counties, court ordered to attend traffic school, receive points on your drivers license along with other penalties. However, if you feel you can fight it then be prepared when you step into court.