Florida Ignition Interlock
Also See: Florida DUI Penalties
DUI Penalties in Florida
Florida Law requires (section 316.193 of the Forida Statutes) requires that interlock devics be installed on vehicles of drivers that are convicted of a DUI.
Ignition Interlock Program
When you are convicted of a DUI in Florida you lose your license. The length of time you lose your license depends on your individual case. When you are eligible to get your license reinstated you may be required to have an ignition interlock device installed in your car.
DUI Conviction / Ignition Interlock Requirement
- First DUI Conviction / If court ordered
- First Conviction if 0.20 or minor in car / up to 6 months
- Second Conviction / At least 1 year
- Second Conviction if 0.20 or minor in car / At least 2 years
- Third Conviction / At least 2 years
In addtion to the inconvenience of the Interlock device there are costs for installation and monthly calibration. The vehicle must be taken to a calibration facility monthly. Monthly appointsment are available by appointment only and take approximately 45 minutes.
Costs to the Defendant
- $70 for installation
- $67.50 for monthly monitoring and calibration
- $100 refundable deposit
If you cannot afford the installation of the interlock device the court may order that a portion of your fine be allocated to cover the costs of installation.
How the Ignition Interlock Works
Here is a summary of a typical scenario with the Interlock Device.
1. Your breathe into the device to start the car
2. Five minutes later the device beeps and you have to breathe again
3. About every 30 minutes the Interlock beeps and you must breathe into it.
Each time you breathe into the Ignition Interlock device the data is recorded and transmitted to the Florida DMV, reports are available on the Internet.