Moving to Florida
Nearly 1,000 people move to Florida each and every day. The migration comes from all over the United States from the north east, mid west, and the west coast. Many new Floridians are retirees and many are young working age families.
The good news is that there is plenty of room in Florida. Housing is plentiful in many areas, jobs are plentiful, and the government of Florida including the DMV, are working hard to make it easy for new Florida residents to easily get settled. Following are guides to key steps new Floridians need to complete.
Depending on the state you move to Florida from converting your license will require different identification requirements. Bringing the proper ID is the most critical step in getting your Florida drivers license. Read more details about converting your out of state drivers license.
You have just 10 days to register your out of state car in Florida.
You Have 30 Days
Florida law requires that you get a Florida drivers license within 30 days of becoming a resident of Florida. You are a resident if you do one of the following:
- Enroll your children in a Florida public school
- Accept employment
- Register to Vote
- File for a homestead exemption
- Reside in Florida for more than six consecutive months