If you receive a speeding ticket, moving violation, or other traffic ticket in Florida you have the option of taking the BDI - Basic Driver Improvement Course. Taking the BDI course will keep points off your driving record and prevent your car insurance cost from increasing. This course is approved for all 67 counties of Florida and can be taken on your schedule, allowing you to login and logout as you progress. It can be taken on your computer or mobile device.
The Basic Driver Improvement course can be taken once every twelve (12) months and a maximum of five (5) times in your lifetime. In most situations you the driver elect to take traffic school and you do this at the time you pay the fine for your traffic citation at the clerk of court office. There are cases where you are ordered to take the BDI course - see below. Traffic School can be elected for most speeding tickets and moving violations the benefits are as follows:
Benefits for completing Traffic School for a Speeding Ticket or Moving Violation:
When you complete the BDI course your safe driver status is maintained
Drivers That Cannot Elect the BDI Course
Mandatory Traffic School (Judge or Court Ordered) TCAC:
If you are ordered to take a 4 hour traffic school course it called TCAC or Judge Ordered. TCAC stands for Traffic Collision Avoidance Course. This is the BDI course under a different name.
The Florida DMV requires you complete Traffic School for the following reasons:
Note: You must elect to take traffic school within 30 days of your citation date - if you miss that window you cannot take the 4 Hour Traffic School Course for your current citation
Drivers Ages 15 to 17 with a Learners Permit:
Drivers with a Florida Learners permit must have their permit for 12 months without a traffic conviction before they can apply for a Class E drivers license. To avoid a conviction a learners permit driver can complete the 4 hour Traffic School if they receive a ticket or citation for a moving violation. Drivers with a learners permit that plead guilty, pay their fine and receive points on their driving record must keep their learners for another 12 months with no traffic violations before they can get their Class E drivers license. For that reason it is very important for these drivers to take traffic school and avoids points on their driving record.
Drivers Under 18 Years Old
Drivers that are under 18 years old that acquire 6 points or more on their driving record in a 12 month period are automatically restricted for one year to driving for business purposes only.
Any additional points added result in the driving restriction being extended for 90 days for each additional point.
Some auto insurance companies provide discounts for those that complete a Driver Improvement course. Check with you car insurance company to see what discounts are offered.
Learn more on how to get discounts on car insurance policies.
When you receive a speeding ticket or moving violation in Florida a case is opened in the Clerk of Court office in the Florida county where you received the ticket. You are expected to pay your fine within 30 days and inform their Clerk of Court Traffic Division that you have elected Traffic School so they keep your ticket open.
You usually have three choices when you receive a Florida traffic ticket. Pay the Full Fine, Elect Traffic School, or Challenge it in Court.
If you pay your fine and plead Guilty points are put on your driving record and your case is closed. Once points are assigned there is no process to remove them. Your driver record will be assessed with the following points:
Your case is kept open.
You are expected to complete a state approved traffic school course and submit your Certificate of Completion to the Clerk of Court in the county where you received your ticket within the deadline. Typically you have the first 30 days to pay the ticket fine and another 30 to 90 days to complete traffic school if it elected.
When the clerk receives your Certificate of Completion then your case is closed and no points are assigned to your driving record.
If you believe you are not guilty of the Traffic Violation you received a ticket for and you can prove it then going to court is your option