Almost 3 million traffic citations were issued in 2017 in Florida — that's 3 million tickets. The bulk of these traffic tickets are for speeding but improper lane change, careless driving, running red lights, and other moving violations were very common as well.
You are required to satisfy your traffic citation within thirty (30) calendar days. Your options may depend on your driving record but if your drivers license is in good standing typical options are as follows:
The benefits of electing the traffic school option in Florida are that your auto insurance cannot go up and your policy cannot be cancelled. If you complete a state approved traffic school course and submit your certificate of completion to the clerk of court in the county where you received the ticket by their specified deadline adjudication is withheld, which means you are not deemed guilty and you received no points.
DMVFlorida.org offers Florida DMV approved traffic school online.
Another option is to look in your local yellow pages under traffic school or driving instruction.
Florida Statute 626.9541(1)(o) 12 States: "No insurer shall impose or request an additional premium, cancel a policy, or issue a non renewal notice on any insurance policy or contract because of any traffic infraction when adjudication of guilt is withheld and no points have been accessed pursuant to s.318.14(9) and (10). However, this subparagraph does not apply to traffic infractions involving accidents in which the insurer has incurred a loss due to the fault of the insured."
If you pay the full fine points will be applied against your drivers license when applicable and your auto insurance rates may go up or your policy may be cancelled.
Fines vary by County as an Example we have provided the fines for Orange County (The Orlando Area)
|MPH Over Limit||Traffic School|
|6 to 9 MPH||$129.00|
|10 to 14 MPH||$204.00|
|15 to 19 MPH||$254.00|
|20 to 29 MPH||$279.00|
|30 MPH & Over||Court Mandatory|
The fines for a Florida speeding ticket listed above are only used to illustrate the typical fees. You should verify your fine with clerk of court in the county where you received your traffic ticket.
If you elect the option to request a court appearance for the violation(s) and it is determined that an infraction has been committed, the Court may adjudicate you guilty, assess points, impose a civil penalty not to exceed $500 ($1000 for violations involving a death or speeding in school/construction zones) or require you to attend traffic school, or all of the above. Additionally, your insurance rates may go up or your policy may be cancelled.
If you speed in a school zone or construction zone your fine can be doubled.