Florida Traffic Schools

The Florida Department of Motor Vehicles regulates the approval of traffic school courses for Florida drivers. The most common driving course taken is basic driver improvement - BDI for a speeding tickets and moving violations.


Florida 4 Hour Basic Driver Improvement

Traffic School for Tickets and Moving Violations

The BDI Course is taken for moving violations - the most common reason drivers take this traffic school course is for speeding tickets to avoid points. Completing Traffic School keeps Safe Driver status and auto insurance rates lower.

Florida Traffic School for Tickets

  • Also known as Defensive Driving
  • In most cases taking this course will avoid points on your driving record
  • TCAC - this is also the Traffic Collision Avoidance Course
  • 4 hours long (DMV Requirement)
  • Users are not required to complete the entire course in one session
  • The approved traffic school will provide a completion Certificate
  • Drivers that complete this course avoid points on their driving record

Learner's Permit DATA Course

DMV Required TLSAE for all new drivers

New drivers (teens and adults) getting their Drivers License for the first time or a Learners Permit in Florida are required to take the TLSAE course.

DATA - Drug Alcohol Course

  • Course is commonly known as DATA, DATE or TLSAE
  • Course is 4 hours long (DMV required)
  • Starting at age 14 courses can taken online
  • Adults getting their first drivers license must take this course
  • Completion information electronically transmitted to the DMV
  • Paper certificates not issued (since information is automatically transmitted)

Permit Test

DMV Exam

The Permit Test is a 50 question exam that all drivers getting their first license or learners permit must complete. You must answer 40 questions correctly to pass.

Online Permit Test

  • Test is known as the Permit Test or DMV Exam
  • Topic covered: road signs, traffic laws, and road rules
  • Age 14 and older can take the Permit Test
  • Age 14 to 17 can take online
  • Age 18 or older must take at a local DMV office
  • Completion information electronically transmitted to the DMV
  • Paper certificates not issued since information is transmitted

8 Hour Traffic School

Judge Ordered / Intermediate Traffic School

The 8 hour Traffic School is also known as Intermediate Driver Improvement and Defensive Driving. This course is usually taken because of a judge or court order.

8 Hour Traffic School

Some Florida counties allow you to take this course for a second traffic ticket if you have already completed the 4 hour Basic Driver Improvement course in the last 12 months. This means you complete both a 4-hour and a 8-hour Traffic School course all within a 12 month period for 2 separate tickets to avoid points. Please check with your county to ensure they allow the 8 hour Intermediate Course.

Florida Mature Driver Course

Insurance Discount for Drivers Over 55

If you are driver with a Florida drivers license that is 55 or older you qualify for a mandatory discount on your auto insurance of 10% a year if you complete the Florida Auto Insurance Discount Course.

Florida Mature Driver Discount

Some auto insurance companies honor this course starting at age 50.

We recommend you check with your auto insurance company before completing this six hour course. In some cases you may have been given a seniors discount.

The typical savings for completing the Mature Driver Insurance discount course is $100 a year for three years for a total of $300.

12 Hour Traffic School (ADI)

Suspended License / Hardship License

12 Hour Traffic School also know as ADI (Advanced Driver Improvement) is typically taken for excessive points.

12 Hour Traffic School (ADI)

Hardship License - as soon as you register and receive an Enrollment Letter you can apply for a Hardship License which allows you to drive to and from work.

Reinstate Suspended License - if your drivers license was suspended for too many points you are required to complete the 12 hour ADI Course to reinstate your license once you complete the suspensions period.

3 Crashes in 3 Years - when convicted of 3 crashes within a 3 year period you may be required to complete the 12 hour Advanced Driver Improvement course.

Related: ADI Traffic School

Out of State Tickets

If you have a Florida drivers license and receive a ticket in another state you do NOT have the option of taking traffic school.

The out of state ticket information will be transmitted to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles and you will receive the appropriate points on your Florida drivers license.