Teens in Florida can get their Learner Permit at age 15. There are 2 steps that must be completed first - Take the DATA Course and Pass the written DMV Test. Both of these requirements can be completed online.
Shortcuts to Approved Courses:
DMV Approved Learner Permit DATA Course and Permit Test:
To obtain a Learners Permit in the state of Florida you must complete: 1) The 4-hour DATA (Drug Alcohol Traffic Awareness) Course; and, 2) DMV Permit Test which covers Road Signs and Traffic Laws.
Once you complete the two state requirements (DATA Course and Permit Exam) you are then eligible to get a Florida Learners Permit. If under age 18, you must bring a parent or legal guardian or signed parental consent form along with required documents.
Starting at age 14 you are eligible to take the DATA Course. at 14 1/2 you can take the DMV Permit Exam. Both available online. Age 18 or older the DMV Permit Exam must be taken at a DMV office - it is not available online for ages 18 and older (only the DATA Course can be taken online for ages 18 and older.)
At age 15 or older and after you've completed the DATA Course and Permit Test you are then eligible to obtain a Florida Learners Permit. Under the age of 18 you must have a Learners Permit for 12 months (1 year) before you are eligible for a Drivers License.
The DATA Course also referred to as TLSAE (Traffic & Law Substance Abuse Education.) This course must be completed by anyone getting their first drivers license or learner permit in Florida. It is a 4 hour online course that teaches how drugs, alcohol, mood, and other factors effect your ability to drive.
The DATA Course is also referred to as the TLSAE (Traffic Law Substance Abuse Education) and DATE Course (Drug Alcohol Traffic Education.)
Age 14 and older are eligible to complete the DATA Course online. This is a DMV required course for anyone getting their first drivers licenses and learners permits in the state of Florida.
A minimum of 4 hours must be spent on the course material and a passing grade is a final exam score with 80% accuracy or better. Course allows you to log in and out on your own schedule.
DATA topics include:
Completion - Once the DATA Course is completed your information is automatically transmitted to the DMV. You need to ensure your name, social security number and birthdate are all accurate before completing the DATA Course so the correct information is transmitted.
The DMV required Permit Test covers road signs, road rules and traffic laws. The test material is slightly different than the DATA Course which emphasizes drug and alcohol use. The DMV Exam must be passed with 80% accuracy or better.
The DMV Exam or Permit Test is comprised of 50 multiple choice questions. Once you obtain 40 correct questions then you pass the exam (80% accuracy.)
Timed Test - 60 minutes are allowed to complete the test.
Topics covered - Road Signs, Traffic Laws, and Road Rules. The questions often are presented in a "scenario" format asking how you would respond to specific situations to help emphasize safe driving practices.
Study the Florida Drivers Handbook and review Permit Practice Tests online. It is important to study in advance as you get three (3) chances to pass the exam online.
Permit Test Online - this DMV Exam can be taken online for ages 14 1/2 to 17.
Age 18 and older must take the DMV Exam at a local DMV Office. It is best to make an appointment especially in more populated counties.
Examples of Permit Test topics include:
After completing both the DATA Course and Permit Test you are then eligible to get a Florida Learners Permit. The DMV approved course and test providers automatically transmit your information to the DMV upon your completion. Please note - the DMV office randomly selects teens to re-take Permit Exams for quality assurance checks.
Age 15 to 17: Minors are required to bring a parent or legal guardian to the DMV office to obtain a Learners Permit. If not available, the responsible adult party can sign and have notarized a Parent Consent for a Driver Application of a Minor Form.
Age 18 or Older: The DMV Exam (on road signs, traffic laws) must be taken at a DMV office once you turn age 18. It is important to study in advance by reading the Florida Drivers Handbook and practice with online Permit Practice Tests. For busy counties, it is advised to make an appointment online.
Required Documents to Bring: You must bring several documents with you to obtain a Learners Permit or first Drivers License in Florida including a Primary Identification; Proof of Social Security Number and Proof of Residential Address. Review a full list of identification requirement documents allowed.