Your drivers license is one place where points are a bad thing. If you are convicted of traffic violation such as speeding or any moving violation in Florida points will be accessed to your drivers license. And if you are an out of state driver the State of Florida will send the violation details to your state DMV.
When you are charged with a traffic violation in Florida in many cases you can avoid getting the points but once the points are on your driving record you cannot remove them. When you pay your fine you usually have three options
Note: you must complete a state approved traffic school course and submit your proof of completion to the clerk of court in the jurisdiction where you received your traffic violation to avoid points
Points on your driving record are a bad thing and it is possible to rack up points for multiple offenses in one incident.
|Texting while driving||3 Points|
|Texting while driving that results in a crash||+6 Points are added to the primary office|
|Leaving the scene of an accident resulting in property damage of more than $50||6 Points|
|Crashing into an unattended vehicle, causing damage and not leaving information||6 Points|
|Reckless driving||4 Points|
|Failing to Stop at a Red Light||4 Points|
|Passing a stopped school bus||4 Points|
|Following too Closely (tailgating)||3 Points|
|Open Container of Alcohol or Consumption of Alcohol in Vehicle||3 Points - Driver receives citation|
|Driving During Restricted Hours||3 Points|
|Speeding - 16 MPH or more over lawful or posted speed||4 Points|
|Speeding - 15 MPH or less over lawful or posted speed||3 Points|
|Speeding - that results in a crash||6 Points|
|All other moving violations (including parking on a highway outside the limits of municipalities)||3 Points|
|Violation of curfew||3 Points|
|Open container as an operator||3 Points|
|Child restraint violation||3 Points|
Fines are doubled when infractions occur within a school zone or construction zone, with possible civil penalties up to $1,000 and can be required to complete driving school course.
The driver receives the same number of points listed if the conviction occurs out-of-state or in a federal court.
The Florida DMV can suspend the Drivers License of a driver that has received 12 points or more in one year. Drivers License Suspensions for points are as follows:
The benefits of electing the traffic school option in Florida are that your auto insurance cannot go up and your policy cannot be cancelled. If you complete a state approved traffic school course and submit your certificate of completion to the clerk of court in the county where you received the ticket by their specified deadline adjudication is withheld, which means you are not deemed guilty and you receive no points.